Loading

Utah CPE Requirements


Utah CPE Requirements


BOARD INFORMATION FOR REFERRALS:

Utah Board of Accountancy
P.O. Box 146741
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741
Phone: 801-530-6628
Fax: 801-530-6511
Website: www.dopl.utah.gov/cpa/

DO PES COURSES QUALIFY FOR CPE IN THE STATE OF UTAH? YES!

Utah has no formal sponsor registration requirements. They will accept courses from NASBA QAS sponsors. PES is a member of NASBA (sponsor #103592), our courses meet Utah state board regulations, and we have issued credits in Utah without any problems.

LICENSE RENEWAL INFORMATION:

  • 80 hours every 2 years
  • No annual minimum
  • 4 hours of ethics which needs to include:
    - 1 hour covering UT CPA Licensing Act and CPA licensing Act Rule. PES course 4960: Utah CPA Licensing Act and Rule can be used to meet your one hour UT specific requirement, and;
    - 3 hours covering one or more of the following areas: The AICPA Code of Professional Conduct; case-based instruction focusing on real life situational learning; ethical dilemmas faced by accounting professions; or business ethics. PES course #4955: Utah General Ethics for Utah CPAs or any of our general ethics courses can be used towards this requirement.

LICENSE EXPIRATION INFORMATION:

  • 12.31 even years

CPE COMPLETION DUE BY:

  • 12.31 even years

SELF STUDY CREDIT HOURS:

Credits granted for PES courses are based on the AICPA and NASBA (National Association of State Boards of Accountancy) statement of standards which grant 1 CPE credit for every 50-minutes of study time. Utah recognizes the same credit measurement.

MAXIMUM ALLOWABLE SELF STUDY CREDITS: 100%
ACCEPTABLE AREAS OF STUDY:

Regulations state: "The Division incorporates and adopts by reference the AICPA/NASBA State on Standards for Continuing Professional Education". Acceptable areas of study are defined by the AICPA/NASBA standards.

NASBA FIELD OF STUDY SYNOPSIS: All NASBA Fields of Study can be equated to an acceptable area of study in the UT Board rules, therefore the courses on PES certificates can be reported to Utah.

If you have any questions regarding your CPE requirements, please call PES at 1-800-990-2731 or your State board. PLEASE NOTE: Since state board regulations are constantly changing, the information contained here is deemed reliable however it is not guaranteed. We encourage you to contact your state board to answer any questions and confirm or clarify any requirements listed here. Information updated 08.05.2021.